Media Guides

Media guides for the Canadian National Wheelchair Rugby team as well as other national teams confirmed for the 2010 WWRC are posted here:


General Media Guide

(Download both parts)



Media Handbook DOWNLOAD
Team Canada Media Guide DOWNLOAD
Team Argentina Media Guide DOWNLOAD
Team Australia Media Guide DOWNLOAD
Team Belgium - Media Guide DOWNLOAD
Team Finland - Media Guide DOWNLOAD
Team Germany - Media Guide DOWNLOAD
Team Great Britain - Media Guide DOWNLOAD
Team Japan - Media Guide DOWNLOAD
Team New Zealand - Media Guide DOWNLOAD
Team Poland - Media Guide DOWNLOAD
Team Sweden - Media Guide DOWNLOAD
Team USA - Media Guide DOWNLOAD


The 2010 World Wheelchair Rugby Championships were awarded to BC Wheelchair Sports Association (BCWSA) in early 2008 after they presented a very strong, well-executed bid to the International Wheelchair Rugby Federation that was supported by several organizations including Canadian Wheelchair Sports Association, national, provincial and local governments and tourism commissions, etc. The event will be run by the newly formed Vancouver 2008 World Wheelchair Rugby Championships Society and its highly experienced Board of Directors and department Directors.

Wheelchair rugby is a team sport for male and female quadriplegics. It is a unique sport created by athletes with a disability that combines some elements of basketball, handball, and ice hockey. It was invented in 1977 in Winnipeg, Canada by a group of quadriplegic athletes who were looking for an alternative to wheelchair basketball. They wanted a sport that would allow players with reduced arm and hand function to participate equally. The sport they created was originally called murderball.

Wheelchair rugby first appeared outside Canada in 1979 at a demonstration at Southwest State University in Minnesota. The first Canadian National Championship was held the same year. The first team in the United States was formed in 1981 and the first international tournament, which brought together teams from the US and Canada, was held in 1982. Throughout the 1980s, other local and national tournaments took place in various countries. The first international tournament was held in 1989 in Toronto with teams from Canada, the USA and Great Britain. Wheelchair rugby first appeared at the World Wheelchair Games in 1990 as an exhibition event.

In 1993, with 15 countries actively participating, the sport was recognised as an official international sport for athletes with a disability and the International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) was established. In 1994, Wheelchair rugby was officially recognised by the International Paralympic Committee as a Paralympic sport. The first Wheelchair Rugby World Championships were held in Switzerland in 1995 with eight teams competing. In 2000, Wheelchair Rugby was included for the first time in the Paralympic Games competition programme as a full medal sport at the Sydney 2000 Paralympic Games.

In 2007, wheelchair rugby was declared a Heritage Sport by the Canadian Federal government, one of only six sports given that designation.